Oklahoma Wins Third Straight Women's College World Series Title, Extends Record Win Streak to 53

Oklahoma wins the Women's College World Series for the third year in a row, and the seventh time overall.

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK (AP) - Jordy BAHL threw three perfect innings on Thursday to help Oklahoma win its seventh Women's College World Series championship and third in a row. The team beat Florida State 3-1 for a two game sweep.

The Sooners won 61 games in a row, extending their Division I record win streak to 53. Six titles have been won since 2016, after their first one in 2000. All under the guidance of Patty Gasso.

Oklahoma's lone defeat came in a 4-3 loss to Baylor at the end of February. The Sooners had the lowest number of losses and set a new record for win rate. The Sooners led the nation in earned run average, runs per game and batting avg. -- even though they lost Division I career home run leader Jocelyn Alo.

UCLA is the only other team to have won three consecutive titles between 1988 and 1990. The Bruins did lose 19 games in that span. Oklahoma has only lost eight games in its three-peat.

Bahl is a sophomore pitcher from Papillion in Nebraska. She did not allow a run to be earned during 24 and 3/32 innings of the WCWS. She was 4-0 and earned the save on Thursday. She became the first World Series pitcher to have worked at least 20 innings without allowing any runs since 1992.

Cydney Sandercock and Grace Lyons both hit home runs in the fifth after Florida State took a 1-0 advantage in the fourth inning on Mack Leonard's shot. Bahl had a comfortable cushion after striking out three batters and throwing 39 pitches. Of those, 28 were strikes.

Sandercock pitched the entire game for Florida State, which reached its third World Series final in five years. The Seminoles were runner-up in 2021 to Oklahoma and won the World Series in 2018.